THU September 26

Thursday, September 26, 2019 - Plenary Session to be held in Panofsky Auditorium

>> Live Stream (opens in new window)

9:00 am    Welcome/Session Introductions - Roseanne Sension (U Michigan, LCLS UEC Vice Chair)

9:10 am    Welcome/Update - Chi-Chang Kao (SLAC Director)

9:30 am    DOE BES Update - James Murphy (Director, Scientific User Facilities Division, Office of Basic Energy Sciences, DOE)

10:00 am  LCLS Update - Mike Dunne (LCLS Director)

10:30 am  Break (group photo in front of the SUSB)

11:00 am  SSRL Update - Paul McIntyre (SSRL Director)

11:30 am  Town Hall Discussion with UEC and LCLS/SSRL Directors Mike Dunne and Paul McIntyre

12:00 pm  Poster Blitz - Bill Schlotter, Moderator

12:30 pm  Break

1:20 pm    Welcome/Session Introductions - Tim Stemmler (Wayne State U, SSRL UEC Vice Chair)

1:30 pm    LCLS Young Investigator Award was presented to Matteo Mitrano (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign): Ultrafast diffusive dynamics of a charge-ordered cuprate

2:00 pm   SSRL William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award was presented to Hans Georg Steinruck (Stanford/SSRL):  Shedding X-ray Light on Energy Storage Materials

2:30 pm    SSRL Melvin P. Klein Scientific Development Award was presented to Xinru Wang (University of Arizona/Brown University)Protein Ser/Thr Phosphatase Substrate Recognition

3:00 pm    SSRL Farrel  W. Lytle Award was presented to Aina Cohen (SLAC/SSRL Structural Molecular Biology Division)

3:10 pm    Break

3:40 pm    SSRL Invited Talk - Stosh Kozimor (LANL): Coordination Chemistry of Actinides

4:20 pm    LCLS Invited Talk - Philippe Wernet (Uppsala University): LCLS-II for Chemical Science

5:00 pm    User Poster Session & Reception - Congratulations to the Joe Wong Outstanding Poster Award Winners